Skip to main content

Appointment Statuses in Prospyr

Appointments in Prospyr can have one of the following 9 statuses. They are listed here with their recommended uses:

  • Booked: An appointment with a patient is scheduled, but not yet confirmed

  • Conflict: An appointment is currently booked, but needs to be rescheduled due to a conflict with another appointment or a change in Provider availability (this can be used as a reminder to reach out to the patient to reschedule, or to denote that rescheduling is in process, but not yet completed)

  • Confirmed: A patient has confirmed their appointment

  • Checked In: A patient has completed all activities with the front desk and is ready for the provider

  • In Progress (can only be marked from the appointment record within the patient profile): The patient is with the provider

  • Checked out: The patient has been charged for their appointment (if required) and has left

  • Completed: Charting and all other activities for the appointment have been completed and the appointment record is fully closed

  • Canceled: The patient has canceled the appointment in advance

  • No Show (can also be used for late cancellation): The appointment was no showed or canceled without enough advanced notice according to your practices policies. Changing an appointment to No Show will prompt the option to collect a no show/late cancellation fee if you had a no show fee enabled at the time the appointment was booked.

Automatically Update Appointment Status to Checked Out:

If you prefer for the appointment status to update automatically after a check‑out is completed, you can go to Settings > Configuration > Appointments and make sure “Automatically set appointment as checked out” is selected.

You can also choose one of the alternative behaviors:

  • Do nothing — the appointment status will not update.

  • Only send notification — the status will not update, but a notification will be sent.

Cancellation Reasons:

You can also add custom cancellation reasons by typing them into the Cancellation Reasons box. Whenever an appointment is marked as cancelled, you'll get the option to select one of these choices.

Did this answer your question?