Skip to main content

How to Set Up Appointment Messaging

Learn how to customize appointment reminders, confirmations, cancellation and no show messages, and virtual appointment communications.

Appointment Messaging

Use the Appointment Messaging section to control when appointment reminders are sent and what patients receive before their appointment.

Start by going to Settings > Messaging > Appointment Messaging.

Appointment reminders

Under Appointment Messaging, you can review your existing reminders and create additional reminders based on how far in advance you want patients to be notified.

  1. Under Appointment Messaging select the reminder to edit the message patients receive.

  2. Use the available tags to automatically include information such as the patient's name, appointment date, appointment time, location, or provider.

  3. To add another reminder, enter the desired interval in days, hours, or minutes, then select Add Reminder.

  4. To remove an existing reminder, select the trash can icon next to it.

  5. Enable Email Reminders if you want the same appointment reminders to be sent by email in addition to text message.

  6. Select Update Settings when your changes are complete.

Allow patients to confirm their appointment by text

Within the appointment reminder message itself, you can include language such as:

Reply Y to confirm your appointment.

When the patient receives the reminder and responds with Y, Prospyr automatically changes the appointment status from Booked to Confirmed.


Enable Links to Complete Appointments in Appointment Reminders

Enable this setting to help patients complete any required forms or consents before their upcoming appointment.

If a patient still has something to complete, Prospyr adds an action required message and a secure Patient Portal link to their appointment reminder. The link takes the patient directly to the page where they can complete the outstanding items.

To enable links to complete appointments:

  1. Scroll to Enable links to complete appointments in appointment reminders.

  2. Enable the setting.

  3. Select Update Settings.

If the patient has already completed everything required for the appointment, they will receive the normal appointment reminder without the additional message or link.

This setting only adds the link to appointment reminders that are already scheduled to send. It does not send a reminder if appointment reminders are turned off.


Appointment Confirmations

Use the Appointment Confirmations section to customize the message patients receive immediately after an appointment is successfully booked.

Separate confirmation messaging can be configured for in-person and virtual appointments.

Customize appointment confirmation messages

  1. Scroll to Appointment Confirmations.

  2. Select the appropriate option for an in-person or virtual appointment.

  3. Edit the confirmation message in the message box.

  4. Use the available tags to automatically include information such as the patient's name, appointment date and time, location, and provider.

  5. Select Update Settings when finished.

Include the patient portal link for virtual appointments

When configuring your virtual appointment confirmation, you can include a patient portal link in the confirmation message. The patient can use this link to access or manage their appointment based on the patient portal rules configured for your practice.

Send confirmation emails

Within Appointment Confirmations, enable Send Appointment Confirmation if you want patients to receive an email confirmation in addition to the text message. Once enabled, customize the email confirmation message directly in the provided message box.

Send a calendar invite

Enable Appointment Confirmation Calendar Invite if you want patients to automatically receive a calendar invitation when their appointment is confirmed.

After making any changes to your confirmation settings, select Update Settings.


Appointment Cancellation

Use the cancellation messaging settings to automatically notify patients when an appointment has been canceled.

A cancellation message is triggered when the appointment status is changed to Canceled.

To configure cancellation messaging:

  1. Scroll down to Appointment Cancellation.

  2. Turn on Send Appointment Cancellation SMS.

  3. Edit the cancellation message in the message box.

  4. Select Update Settings.

You may also want to include your practice phone number or booking link in the message so the patient can easily schedule another appointment.


Appointment Reschedule

You can also customize the message a patient receives when an appointment is rescheduled.

  1. Scroll down to Appointment Reschedule.

  2. Edit the reschedule message as needed.

  3. Select Update Settings to save your changes.


Appointment No Show

Use the no show messaging settings to automatically contact patients when an appointment is marked as a no show.

The message is triggered when the appointment status changes to No Show.

To configure the message:

  1. Scroll down to Appointment No Show.

  2. Turn on Send Appointment No Show SMS.

  3. Customize the message in the message box.

  4. Select Update Settings.

You may want to include your phone number or booking link to encourage the patient to reschedule. If your practice has a no show fee or policy, you can also include that information in the message.


After Hours Autoresponder

Use the After Hours Autoresponder to automatically respond when a patient sends your practice a message outside of the hours you define.

To configure the autoresponder:

  1. Scroll down to After Hours Autoresponder section.

  2. Turn on the autoresponder.

  3. Set the hours you consider after hours.

  4. Customize the message patients will receive during that time.

  5. Include emergency or alternate contact information when appropriate.

  6. Select Update Settings.


Continue sending reminders after a patient confirms

Use this if you want to continue sending reminders after a patient confirms their appointment.

  1. Scroll down to Remind patients that have already confirmed.

  2. Turn on Remind patients about confirmed appointments

  3. Select Update Settings after making changes.

If this setting is not turned on, appointment reminders will stop once the appointment status changes to Confirmed.


Stale appointment threshold

Use the stale appointment threshold to prevent older appointments from unexpectedly triggering automated messages when they are completed later.

The threshold is based on the appointments original start time, not the date the appointment is marked complete.

To configure the stale appointment threshold:

  1. Scroll to Stale Appointment Threshold.

  2. Enter the number of days you want to allow an appointment to trigger automated messaging.

  3. Leave the setting blank if you do not want to use a stale appointment cutoff.

  4. Select Update Settings.

For example, if the threshold is set to 7 days, an appointment from 10 days ago that is completed today will not trigger automated audience messages.


Virtual Appointment Messaging

In addition to the virtual appointment confirmation, Prospyr can send patients a message containing their link to join the virtual appointment.

To customize this message:

  1. Scroll down to Virtual Appointment Link Message

  2. Edit the message patients will receive before the appointment.

  3. Keep the join link placeholder included in the message so Prospyr can insert the correct link for the appointment.

  4. Select Update Settings when finished.

This message is sent 15 minutes before the virtual appointment begins.


Service Category Specific Confirmations and Reminders

Your general appointment confirmation and reminder settings apply across appointments by default.

If a particular service category requires different instructions, you can create confirmation and reminder messaging specifically for that category.

For example, you may want patients booking one type of treatment to receive different preparation instructions than patients booking another type of service.

To configure service category specific messaging:

  1. Go to Settings > Catalog > Catalog > Service Categories .

  2. Find the service category you want to update and select the edit icon.

  3. Open the Messaging tab for that service category.

  4. Configure the confirmation and reminder messaging you want patients in that category to receive.

When an appointment is booked for a service in that category, the category specific confirmation and reminder messages will be used instead of your standard messages.

Your general appointment messaging settings still apply. For example, settings that control whether reminders include links to complete required paperwork or whether reminders continue after a patient confirms the appointment will still be followed.

Did this answer your question?